Haviland porcelain has always combined modern demands with creative craftsmanship. The finishing and decorating artistic work are all realized by hand, by highly skilled and truly passionate artists.

RAW PORCELAIN

Kaolin, feldspar and quartz are the principal components of porcelain. These items are placed in a grinder where they are crushed and mixed with water. The mixing takes several hours.

Depending on the manufacturing process, three consistencies of porcelain solution are used:

– For jiggering, a soft mixture

– For casting, a liquid form called « barbotine»

– For pressing, a dry granulated mixture

 

 

THE CREATION OF MODELS AND MOULDS

Everything begins in the modeling workshop. An artist sculpts original creations in plaster. Time-consuming effort and delicate work are necessary to perfect these forms. This is followed by the creation of production moulds, which are produced in plaster from the original models.

MANUFACTURING

Jiggering: The mould gives the exterior shape to each piece while a steel calibrator creates the interior shape.

Casting:Pieces with more complex shapes are produced through casting. The liquid clay flows evenly over the walls of the mould and dries. When the desired thickness is achieved the excess clay is eliminated.

Pressing:Pieces are pressed in a mould with a dry, grainy mixture.

Garnishing:Handles, spouts and knobs moulded independently, are glued to finished pieces using a liquid mixture of similar composition.

Finishing:After drying, the finishing process removes «seams» left by the mould. Each piece is now perfectly smooth.

The «degourdi» firing:At this stage, the porcelain undergoes its first firing at approximately 950°C. This firing gives porcelain resistance and makes it porous, a necessity for enameling.

Enameling:Silica, pegmatite, kaolin and lime are mixed with water. The porcelain is plunged into this enamel mixture that gives it brilliance, sheen and translucency.

The «grand feu» firing:The second firing lasts for about 24 hours at a final temperature of 1,400°C and produces physical changes that allow the enamel to fuse with the porcelain body. Enameled porcelain pieces are referred to as «le blanc». A quality control is performed on each item before it is sent to the decoration workshop.

 

THE CREATION OF DECOR

The Chromolithography Atelier

The Maison Haviland owns a Chromolithography printing atelier to master the excellence of the pattern. To adapt to the different forms with harmony, and to reveal the colours with alchemy of the kiln, require rigour and exigency. The know-how, the experience and the skills of the artisans of the Haviland Manufacturer, are essential to master all these constraints and to guarantee an optimal quality of realization.

The Screen Printing is a printing technique that uses silk screens interposed between the ink and the support to print colours composed of mineral pigment or plants. The Haviland laboratory conducts research to find the most innovative solutions to create bespoke projects. From the traditional “bleu de four” that has made the reputation of the Limoges Porcelain, to the organic colours with the reactive enamel effects, the Maison Haviland works on the colours as a true artisan.

The magical know-how of the Manufacturer continues to perpetuate with the same brilliance.

DECORATION

Gold, platinum, or coloured filigree as well as the garnishing of handles and knobs are all applied with a brush by «spinners», the steady-handed artists of decoration. Another firing is then necessary to adhere the decoration to the porcelain enamel. Temperature varies between 900°C and 1,250°C.

INCRUSTATIONS

The porcelain jewels require artistic talent, delicacy and long hours of hard work. No less than eleven painstaking steps are required to create these marvels. A protecting coating is applied to all areas of the porcelain that will not be encrusted. The piece is plunged into an acid bath that etches the enamel and leaves in relief, the areas to be polished. The piece is then cleaned. A first coat of brilliant gold is applied with a brush. The piece is then fired at a temperature of 810°C. A second coat of matt gold is then applied and the piece is fired again at 850°C. The gold is gently rubbed with very fine sand, to accentuate the difference between the matt area (engraved portion) and the brilliant area (the non-engraved portion of the decor).

Among the exceptional inlay collections, the Maison Haviland presents prestigious museum reproductions: Feuille d’Or (1912), Grand Apparat (1883), and patterns inspired by unique oriental fabrics and ornaments of the 12th & 13th centuries: Bassora.

Updating…
  • No products in the cart.
error: Content is protected !!

Quelle que soit l’époque, la manufacture Haviland a toujours su allier les exigences du modernisme à la créativité artisanale.

Toutes les finitions et les travaux artistiques de décoration sont réalisés à la main, de façon artisanale par des artisans hautement qualifiés

LA PÂTE À PORCELAINE

Le kaolin, le feldspath et le quartz sont les principaux composant de la pâte à porcelaine. Ils sont broyés et mélangés avec de l’eau dans un broyeur pendant plusieurs heures.

Suivant les procédés de fabrication, trois sortes de pâte sont utilisées :

– Pour le calibrage, une pâte molle

– Pour le coulage, une pâte liquide « la barbotine »

– Pour le pressage, une pâte sèche en granulés

LA CRÉATION DES MODULES ET DES MOULES

Tout commence dans l’atelier de modelage. Les créations originales sont sculptées dans le plâtre par les modeleurs. Différents essais, sont nécessaires afin de mettre au point les formes. Suit la réalisation des matériels destinés à la fabrication des moules de production, également en plâtre, réalisés à partir du modèle original.

LA FABRICATION

Le calibrage :Le moule donne la forme extérieure de la pièce et le calibre en acier la forme intérieure.

Le coulage :Les pièces aux formes plus complexes sont obtenues par coulage. La pâte liquide, introduite dans les moules, se dépose uniformément sur les parois en séchant. Quand l’épaisseur désirée est atteinte, l’excédent de pâte est éliminé.

Le pressage :Les pièces sont pressées dans un moule à partir d’une pâte sèche en granulés.

Le garnissage :Les anses, becs et boutons, coulés indépendamment, sont collés sur les pièces avec une pâte liquide de composition pratiquement identique.

Le finissage :Après séchage, la finition permet de rendre les pièces parfaitement lisses après enlèvement des « coutures » des moules.

La cuisson « dégourdi » :La porcelaine subit alors sa première épreuve du feu dite «dégourdi » à 950°C environ. Cette cuisson est destinée à donner à la pâte la résistance et la porosité nécessaire à l’émaillage.

L’émaillage :La porcelaine est ensuite plongée dans un bain d’émail composé de silice, de pegmatite, de kaolin et de chaux que l’on mélange avec de l’eau. L’émail confère à la porcelaine sa force, son aspect brillant, son éclat et sa translucidité.

La cuisson « grand feu » :La deuxième cuisson est effectuée pendant 24 heures environ à une température finale de 1400°C permettant les transformations physiques de la pâte et la fusion de l’émail. Les articles de porcelaine émaillés composent ce que l’on appelle « le blanc » qui après un contrôle qualité de chaque pièce, est orienté vers l’atelier de décor.

LA CRÉATION DES DÉCORS

Atelier de chromolithographies

Pour maîtriser l’excellence jusqu’au décor, Haviland possède son propre atelier d’impression de Chromolithographies. S’adapter avec harmonie aux formes des différentes pièces, révéler les couleurs avec l’alchimie du four nécessite rigueur et exigence. Pour maîtriser toutes ces contraintes et garantir une qualité de réalisation optimale, le savoir-faire, l’expérience et les compétences des artisans de la Manufacture Haviland sont essentiels.

La sérigraphie (du latin sericum : la soie et du grec graphein l’écriture) est une technique d’impression qui utilise des écrans de soie interposés entre l’encre et le support afin d’imprimer des couleurs composées de pigments minéraux ou végétaux. Le laboratoire Haviland recherche toutes les solutions les plus innovantes et adaptées pour faire du sur-mesure pour chaque projet. Du traditionnel bleu de four qui a fait la réputation de la Porcelaine de Limoges jusqu’aux couleurs organiques à effet en passant par les émaux réactifs, Haviland travail les couleurs comme un véritable orfèvre.

Le savoir-faire magique de la Manufacture ne s’est jamais démenti et continue d’opérer avec le même éclat.

LA DÉCORATION

Les filets en or, en platine ou en couleur ainsi que les garnitures des anses et des boutons sont appliqués au pinceau par les fileurs. Une nouvelle cuisson est alors nécessaire pour fixer les décors sur l’émail de la porcelaine. La température peut varier de 900°C à 1250°C.

LES INCRUSTATIONS

Ces joyaux de porcelaine demandent talent artistique, minutie et de longues heures de travail.

En effet, pas moins de 11 étapes sont nécessaires pour obtenir ces merveilles.

Une première opération consiste à protéger par un vernis les parties qui ne seront pas incrustées. La pièce est plongée dans un bain d’acide qui attaque l’émail et laisse en relief les parties qui seront polies. La pièce est ensuite nettoyée.

Une première couche d’or brillant est appliquée au pinceau. La pièce subit alors une première cuisson à 810°. On applique ensuite une deuxième couche d’or mat et on effectue une nouvelle cuisson à 850°. L’or est ensuite sablé, à l’aide d’un sable très fin. Afin d’accentuer le contraste entre la partie mate (partie gravée) et la partie brillante (partie non gravée du décor). Parmi les incrustations exceptionnelles, la Maison Haviland propose des reproductions

du musée, comme les collections Feuille d’Or (1912), Grand Apparat (1883), mais aussi des créations de décors d’inspiration orientale, de motifs ornementaux et architecturaux des 12e et 13e siècles telle que la collection Bassora.

Mise à jour…
  • Votre panier est vide.
error: Content is protected !!